What is fleeing the scene of an accident?

Let’s talk about fleeing the scene of an accident. In the state of Florida, if someone is involved in a traffic crash where the amount of damage is over $50, there is a requirement that the traffic information be exchanged. They have to give their name, address, contact information and insurance information. If they fail to do that and simply leave the scene, then they are charged with a criminal offense, which is fleeing the scene of an accident while failing to give information. This can result in a formal criminal charge and prosecution. This also has a bearing on how an insurance company sets someone’s rates. So that can be a big issue because it can cost a lot of money if your insurance gets bumped up as you get points and infractions. Additionally, if someone collects a certain number of points in a certain time period, in Florida, it’s 12 points within 12 months, 18 points within 18 months, or 24 points in 24 months. This can result in a separate suspension on someone’s driver’s license.

If you find yourself in a car accident, rather than fleeing the scene of the accident, call the authorities and call Dale Carson Law. Our team of traffic lawyers are here to help here your case and help you navigate the law. 

Dale Carson Law is dedicated to protecting the rights of individuals.


The Blackstone Building 233 East Bay Street, Suite 1101 Jacksonville, Florida 32202



(904)355-6738 fax

Business Hours

Available 24/7