After a few drinks at a party with your family, you may feel that you are fine to drive home, but there can be some serious risks. In Florida, if you are driving under the influence with a person under the age of 18 in the car, there can be dramatic consequences. Aside from the heightened legal risk, the likelihood of an accident resulting in serious injury or death increases dramatically when alcohol is involved.
While you may not have planned to drink, or you thought you were still good to drive, Florida takes DUI charges with minor passengers very seriously. Our DUI lawyer explains how a charge with a minor in the car will bring considerable hardships legally, financially and emotionally.
Consequences for a DUI conviction in Florida with a minor in the car.
Under Florida Statute §316.193(4), a DUI conviction with a minor in the car may lead to:
1st DUI Conviction Consequences
Up to $2,000 fine
Up to 9 months of jail time
2nd DUI Conviction Consequences
Up to $4,000 fine for a second conviction
Up to 12 months jail time for a second conviction
DUI Manslaughter Convictions
Up to a $10,000 fine
Up to 15 years in prison
Other DUI Conviction Consequences
Ignition interlock device
Monthly probation reporting
Substance abuse course
Substance abuse treatment
Loss of license
Immobilization of car
Impoundment of car
On top of the legal consequences listed above, a wide range of emotions from sadness, regret, despair, shame, and embarrassment, can weigh heavily on the person convicted of the crime.
Contact Jacksonville’s Best DUI Lawyer
We hope you are never faced with the above situation, but if you are, and have been accused or convicted of a DUI with an underage child in the car, seek legal assistance right away. Our expert DUI lawyers can help you navigate your accusation or conviction and help fight for your rights. Contact us today to learn more about how we can help you.