In Florida Concealed Weapons & Use of Weapons Amplify Criminal Charges & Penalties — Dale Carson Law may be Able to get Your Charges Reduced or Dismissed
If charged with crimes in Florida, concealed weapons or weapons used during the alleged crime, especially a firearm, could increase the severity of the criminal charges and the penalties involved. Even someone with a concealed weapons permit who has a gun or other weapon with him at the time of a burglary, or felony of another sort, will be charged and punished more severely than someone who commits the same crime without a weapon. Take assault, for example. Simple assault, which is a charge for threatening someone, not attacking them, is a second-degree misdemeanor. It carries a maximum penalty of 60 days in jail, 6 months probation and $500 fine. But threaten someone with a gun and it becomes Aggravated Assault, a third-degree felony for which a person could face THREE to FIVE YEARS in prison, five years probation and $5,000 in fines. Attorneys at Dale Carson Law have experience in Florida with concealed weapons and use-of-weapon laws. We frequently get weapons charges reduced or dismissed and protect the rights of our gun-carrying clients and clients falsely accused of carrying or using a gun. The State Attorney’s Office seems to believe that anyone carrying a weapon intends to harm someone. They have forgotten that the right to bear arms is guaranteed by the United States Constitution. If you are facing weapons charges of any sort, it is critical to have a defense lawyer who is also a gun-toting member of the NRA and believes in your right to carry a weapon for self defense. Dale Carson is that lawyer. You can schedule a free consultation with a Jacksonville on our Complimentary Consults page or call Dale Carson Law about your Florida concealed weapons or use-of-weapon charge today at 904-355-6777.
Florida’s Concealed Weapons Law — Can You Get Arrested Just for Carrying a Gun?
Florida’s concealed weapons law allows a citizen to carry a weapon or firearm out of sight only if they have a concealed weapons permit. Except for some particular circumstances, like going hunting or target shooting, it is illegal to carry a gun in public unless you have a permit. If police find you carrying a gun without a permit, whether it is hidden or openly visible, you can be arrested and charged. If you are charged with a crime, whether it is a misdemeanor petit theft or a felony like robbery, and police believe you had a gun at the time of the alleged crime, you can be charged with a more severe crime. This is true even if there is no proof that you used the gun to commit the crime or if you have a concealed weapons permit. Anyone convicted of just having a firearm in their possession when committing certain crimes, like robbery, burglary, battery and related offenses can be sentenced to a minimum of 10 years in prison. If the gun is fired, minimum sentence is 20 years. If the gun is used to injure or kill someone, minimum sentence is 25 years. If police allege that a person used a weapon other than a gun, potential penalties are less than those for using a gun, but usually still more severe than if no weapon was used. If you face criminal charges in Florida with a concealed weapons or use-of-weapons allegation, you need a lawyer with experience in dealing with those allegations and protecting clients from unjustified weapons charges. You can receive a free consultation from an attorney at Dale Carson Law. Find out what your rights are and how to protect them. Just go to our Complimentary Consults page to get started. Or call Dale Carson Law about your Florida concealed weapons or use-of-weapon charge today at 904-355-6777. Find out more about how we work with our clients on the Our Approach page. Learn more about legal issues that concern you and your case in our Free Resources section.