In Florida, individuals charged with a DUI may be subject to a driver’s license suspension. If this happens, the individual charged needs to take steps for reinstatement within 10 calendar days. Failing to act will result in an administrative suspension. Keep reading for what our Jacksonville DUI lawyer wants you to know about suspended license regulations under Florida law.
DHSMV Administrative Rules for Florida Suspended License
Individuals charged with a DUI have the right to refuse to take a breathalyzer. If a person refuses, or, provides a breath sample above the legal limit of .08 g/100mL, their license will be suspended. Suspensions can last from 6 months up to lifetime, depending on the specific charge and whether the individual has prior DUI convictions.
Suspects charged with a DUI arrest have 10 days to request a Formal Review Hearing to contest the pending suspension. Failure to request a hearing within the 10-day period will result in license suspension.
If the individual requests a hearing within the 10 day window, DMV will extend the temporary license for 33 more days, with the possibility of an extension, should the hearing be continued. This allows driving privileges for business purposes only.
If the Defense prevails at the Formal Review Hearing, the license will be fully reinstated. However, if the suspension is upheld the license will be suspended for the applicable time period.
Contact Our DUI Lawyer
If you or someone you know has been charged with a DUI or have other driver’s license issues contact our DUI lawyer today. Our experts are available 24/7 to answer calls and provide guidance on next steps. Call us anytime at 904-355-6777 or find more information on our website.