Charged in Jacksonville with DUI? Attorneys at Dale Carson Law have a Track Record for Getting Felony Charges Reduced or Dismissed
In Jacksonville, DUI attorneys from Dale Carson Law are very successful in getting DUI felonies and other drunk driving charges dismissed or reduced to a lesser charge. If you have been charged in Florida with drunk driving, a lawyer is needed to protect your rights. Since our attorneys once prosecuted drunk driving charges, they know DUI laws inside and out and are familiar with the tactics of DUI prosecutors. If you are facing your first or second DUI charge and there is no accusation that someone was injured or killed by you while allegedly driving while drunk, then your charge is most likely a misdemeanor. Find out more about DUI misdemeanors here: DUI Misdemeanors Explained by a Jacksonville DUI Attorney.
Florida’s Felony DUI Charges — Jacksonville DUI Attorney Explains
Generally, there are two ways your drunk driving charge can become a felony charge that could get you more than a year in jail. First, if you are convicted of drunk driving three or more times within 10 years, your charge automatically becomes a felony. Every fourth or subsequent drunk driving/DUI charge is also a felony. Secondly, if you injure or kill someone while driving drunk, your DUI charge becomes a felony.
Here are the six possible felony charges and their sentencing guidelines according to Florida DUI laws:
- Fourth or subsequent DUI charge or third DUI charge within 10 years—Third Degree felony—potential fine up to $5,000 and up to 5 years imprisonment
- Injuring another person while drunk driving—Third Degree felony—potential fine up to $5,000 and up to 5 years imprisonment
- Accidentally killing someone while driving drunk—DUI/Manslaughter—Second Degree felony—potential fine up to $10,000 and up to 15 years imprisonment
- Accidentally killing someone while driving drunk and leaving the scene—DUI Manslaughter/leaving the scene—First Degree felony—potential fine up to $10,000 and up to 30 years imprisonment. Note that prosecutors must prove that you knew about the accident or should have known that it occurred and that you failed to give your information to police or render aid to the injury victim. In Jacksonville, a DUI attorney from Dale Carson Law can help you prove otherwise.
- Vehicular homicide—killing someone while operating a motor vehicle in a reckless manner likely to cause death or great bodily harm (drunk driving included—prosecutors do not need to prove you intended to kill the victim)— Second Degree felony—potential fine up to $10,000 and up to 15 years imprisonment
- Vehicular homicide/leaving the scene—same situation as vehicular homicide, plus you leave the scene without giving your information to police—First Degree felony—potential fine up to $10,000 and up to 30 years imprisonment.
Receive Free Consultation about Your Felony DUI Charge from a Jacksonville DUI Attorney at Dale Carson Law
If you have been charged in Florida with drunk driving, a lawyer may be able to help you avoid conviction and serious penalties. Being arrested for DUI or failing a breath or blood test does not necessarily mean you are guilty of drunk driving. You can avoid heavy fines, jail time, license suspension and other consequences of a DUI charge if your case can be defended properly. Attorneys at Dale Carson Law can help you understand your charges and rights according to Florida’s DUI laws and show you how our firm can help you. There is no charge for this initial consultation. To schedule a complimentary consultation with a Jacksonville DUI attorney go to our Complimentary Consults page. Or call a Jacksonville DUI attorney at Dale Carson Law today at 904-355-6777. The articles below contain additional information about DUI and other traffic charges in Florida. You can also find more in our Free Resources section.
DUI and Driving Offenses
Drivers License Suspension Hearings
Suspended License Restoration