Suspended License? Request a Review Hearing within 10 Days
If your license faces suspension due to a Florida DUI arrest, you need to take action within 10 calendar days to reinstate it. In any case, ensure that you avoid being caught driving with a suspended license in Florida. Our Jacksonville law firm’s attorneys have witnessed Florida courts taking stringent measures against individuals who were apprehended while driving with a suspended driver’s license. Even if the suspension occurred in another state from FL, courts are strict.
Hardship License and DUIs
In many cases we can get your license back or help you get a hardship license. A hardship license will allow you to drive yourself to work. When arrested on a DUI charge, your driver’s license faces suspension on two levels. Immediately the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles will place your license on administrative suspension – read more below. However, if you are convicted on the DUI charge your license will also face criminal suspension. You can read more about criminal suspension here: Suspended License Restoration
Florida’s 10-Day Rule for a Suspended License under DHSMV Administrative Rules
If you were arrested on a DUI charge, your driver’s license will be subject to an administrative suspension. The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles will issue these suspensions. You receive DUI charges for either refusing to take a breathalyzer test, or you took the test and scored above the legal limit 0.08. The suspension will be for 6, 12 or 18 months. However, when an administrative suspension occurs the DHSMV will issue you a temporary driving permit that expires in 10 days. After your DUI arrest you have 10 days (same duration as the temporary permit) to request a Formal Review Hearing with the DSHMV to contest your suspended license.
Failure to Hire a Lawyer in 10 Days
If you don’t hire a lawyer and request a hearing within the 10-day time frame, your license could face a suspension of up to 18 months. However, successfully hiring a lawyer and requesting the Formal Review Hearing on time enables your lawyer to obtain a temporary driving permit for you, allowing business-related driving for the next 42 days. Your hearing should be scheduled during this period. If your lawyer achieves success at the Formal Review Hearing, they can reinstate your license pending the outcome of your criminal case. If not, the suspension will persist, and the temporary permit will be revoked. After a certain period of suspension, you might qualify to apply for a Hardship Driver’s License.
Receive a Free Consultation About Your Suspended License from Our Jacksonville Law Firm
An attorney from Jacksonville law firm Dale Carson Law may be able to help you get your license back or help you obtain a hardship license if yours is suspended. It costs you nothing to find out whether we can help you. Your initial consultation is free and you will get a straight-forward assessment of your case and the suspension you face. Simply fill out the form on our Complimentary Consults page and we will schedule your complimentary suspended license consultation. Or call an attorney at Dale Carson Law today at 904-355-6777. Need more information? The articles below contain additional information about traffic charges in Florida. You can also find more in our Free Resources section. DUI and Driving Offenses DUI Felonies DUI Misdemeanors Traffic Violations Suspended License Restoration